May 11th, 2006


Continuity error!

One of my favorite authors is Robert Crais, who writes a series of detective novels starring a private eye named Elvis Cole. (He also writes thrillers that are unrelated to (and not as good as) the Elvis Cole novels, one of which, Hostage, was recently made into a Bruce Willis movie.) If you like mysteries, I definitely recommend them. (tomthedog, I think you in particular would like them. Just a hunch.)

Anyway, I've recently been re-reading the Elvis Cole novels. Last night I finished the ninth novel in the series, The Last Detective; this morning I started the tenth, The Forgotten Man. I hadn't gone very far before I ran into what appears to be a fairly flagrant continuity error. I don't want to go into much detail, in case anyone is inspired by my recommendation to read the books, but at the end of The Last Detective, something happens that involves "the governments of Sierra Leone, Angola, and El Salvador" (pg. 334 of the Ballantine paperback edition). But in The Forgotten Man, Cole mentions the events of the previous book but says that the parties involved were "the governments of Sierra Leone and Colombia … along with—get this—the United Nations" (pg. 27 of the Ballantine paperback edition). Shocking!

Bonus content for reading this far! Here are some of my favorite mystery writers:

  • Robert Arthur and all the other authors who contributed to the Three Investigators series
  • Lawrence Block
  • Max Allan Collins
  • Robert Crais
  • Joseph Finder
  • Tony Hillerman
  • Julia Spenser-Fleming
  • Donald E. Westlake

Add your favorites in the comments.

  • Current Music
    The Diane Rehm Show on WAMU
count, ten, 10-A

Ten random things: May 11

Ten Three Investigators novels:

  1. The Mystery of the Moaning Cave
  2. The Mystery of Monster Mountain
  3. The Secret of Shark Reef
  4. The Secret of Skeleton Island
  5. The Mystery of the Nervous Lion
  6. The Mystery of the Headless Horse
  7. The Mystery of the Stuttering Parrot
  8. The Mystery of the Laughing Shadow
  9. The Mystery of the Dead Man's Riddle
  10. The Mystery of the Silver Spider

These titles are drawn from the first 33 books in the series. I'm sort of the opinion that the ones written after Alfred Hitchcock died don't count, except for The Mystery of the Scar-Faced Beggar, which was the first post-Hitchcock book and contains a reference to Hitchcock's death. Amusingly, after they went back and revised the earlier books to remove Hitchcock from them, Scar-Faced Beggar still contained the scene in which the boys express sadness over Hitchcock's recent death.