August 15th, 2006


Ten random things: August 15

Ten winners of the Stalin Prize:

  1. Pavel Alekseyevich Cherenkov
  2. Mikhail Kalashnikov
  3. Dmitri Shostakovich
  4. Sergei Eisenstein
  5. Sergei Prokofiev
  6. Léon Theremin
  7. Aram Khachaturian
  8. Mstislav Rostropovich
  9. Nikolai Myaskovsky

The Stalin Prize was a state honor presented by the Soviet Union for achievement in the arts and sciences. Theremin (born on this date in 1896), though best remembered today for his invention of the electronic musical instrument that bears his name, won the prize not for his contribution to the arts but for his work as an engineer, specifically for the development of sophisticated eavesdropping equipment.

  • Current Music
    Bruce Hornsby and the Range - The Way It Is