May 20th, 2010

10-S, 10-D

Ten random things: May 20

Ten recipients of the Virginia Hart Award:

  1. Diane Siegler (2009)
  2. Ruth Louise-Hine (1985)
  3. Loriann Wunder (1995)
  4. Jeanne Meyer (1996)
  5. Daisy Cubias (1989)
  6. Ruthe Badger (1987)
  7. Harriet Schoenebeck (2001)
  8. Joan Sanzen (2005)
  9. Vicki Bennington (1991)
  10. Lady Campbell (2000)

Virginia Hart, Wisconsin’s first woman cabinet member, served as Secretary of the Department of Regulation and Licensing, chairperson of the Department of Industry, Labor and Human Relations, and as chairperson of the Labor and Industry Review Commission. Upon her retirement from state service in 1983, friends and colleagues established a fund so that each year a woman in Wisconsin state service could be recognized for exemplary performance and contribution to the citizens of the state. As previously mentioned, my sister was the recipient of an honorable mention for this year's Virginia Hart Award, and I had the privilege of attending the award ceremony this afternoon at the State Capitol. It was a nice ceremony, and an unexpectedly moving one. One of the other honorable mention recipients passed away earlier this month at the age of 52; her husband and her sister were there to accept the award, and the tribute paid to her by her departmental representative was quite touching.