John Heaton (jheaton) wrote,
John Heaton

  • Music:

Ten random things: August 15

Ten winners of the Stalin Prize:

  1. Pavel Alekseyevich Cherenkov
  2. Mikhail Kalashnikov
  3. Dmitri Shostakovich
  4. Sergei Eisenstein
  5. Sergei Prokofiev
  6. Léon Theremin
  7. Aram Khachaturian
  8. Mstislav Rostropovich
  9. Nikolai Myaskovsky

The Stalin Prize was a state honor presented by the Soviet Union for achievement in the arts and sciences. Theremin (born on this date in 1896), though best remembered today for his invention of the electronic musical instrument that bears his name, won the prize not for his contribution to the arts but for his work as an engineer, specifically for the development of sophisticated eavesdropping equipment.


  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.