John Heaton (jheaton) wrote,
John Heaton
jheaton

  • Music:

Book dump: April 2007

These are the books I read in April. A slow month! I did re-read some Robert Crais novels though, so it's not like I wasn't reading at all.

Drama! The Four Dorothys by Paul Ruditis
This is not a good book, which is a shame, because it was a pretty good idea for a book. The biggest problem is that it's framed as a mystery, but it's an utterly ineffective one, because the characters spend the entire book talking about how the most obvious suspect was probably responsible for the mysterious goings-on, only to have the most obvious subject revealed as the guilty party. That's not the most effective way to write a mystery. I also want to point out that the cover is a fairly transparent attempt to capitalize on the popularity of High School Musical. That's just an observation, not a criticism, but I will say that the movie was more entertaining than this book, which should tell you something.
 
Vinnie's Head by Marc Lecard
A comic caper in the tradition of Donald E. Westlake or Carl Hiaasen. Certain twists are not hard to predict, but Lecard does manage a few surprises along the way, so all in all it balances out.
 
Dreaming in Code: Two Dozen Programmers, Three Years, 4,732 Bugs, and One Quest for Transcendent Software by Scott Rosenberg
I'm not a programmer, but I worked closely with programmers for a couple of years when I was a network engineer for GE in the late 90s, so Rosenberg's study of how and why large-scale software development projects aft gang agley was of particular interest to me. I still vividly remember the disaster that was the East of Chicago Pizza project... Anyway, if you're a programmer or work around them, you'll probably enjoy this book. And don't worry, it's not an overly technical book; you don't need to know anything about programming to understand or enjoy it.
 
Acceptance by Susan Coll
I tend to like academic satires, so naturally I was interested in reading this one. (That it was written by an author whose previous two books I had enjoyed helped.) This one is about the college application process, and it's quite funny.
 
Altruistic Armadillos, Zenlike Zebras: A Menagerie of 100 Favorite Animals by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
A disappointment. I read this expecting to learn lots of interesting facts about different animals, but the author is pretty infiffereuent to facts, preferring instead to focus on relentless attempts to ascribe human emotions to various animals and weird fantasies about friendly eels and praying mantises. His approach to scientific rigor is probably best illustrated by chapter 99, which is about the yeti. On the other hand, I did learn that koalas are prone to contracting chlamydia, so it wasn't a complete waste.
Subscribe

  • My tweets

    Sat, 17:13: "Why would you play with my expectations, Marvel? To surprise me? To bring me joy? The only joy I feel is when my fan theories are…

  • My tweets

    Fri, 16:04: This family and that of the woman who asked for donations to Sen. Ron Johnson's 2022 opponent in lieu of flowers would probably get…

  • My tweets

    Thu, 13:31: With the finale right around the corner and in light of the extravagant praise she has received, I'd like to point out that one…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 1 comment