John Heaton (jheaton) wrote,
John Heaton

  • Music:

Ten random things: March 17

Ten teams that received invitations to the 2008 NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Tournament:

  1. Butler University Bulldogs
  2. Boise State University Broncos
  3. Vanderbilt University Commodores
  4. Kansas State University Wildcats
  5. Duke University Blue Devils
  6. Texas A&M University Aggies
  7. Mississippi Valley State University Delta Devils
  8. University of Miami Hurricanes
  9. Cornell University Big Red
  10. George Mason University Patriots

George Mason is one of six local teams that made the tournament this year, the other five being American University, Georgetown, Coppin State, Mount St. Mary's University, and University of Maryland-Baltimore County. Some people, such as the Washington Post sports department, might not consider those last three as local teams -- they have in the past demonstrated a rather tenuous grasp on the meaning the term -- but they are clearly wrong, since all three lie within the boundaries of the Washington-Baltimore-Northern Virginia, DC-MD-VA-WV Combined Statistical Area.


  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.