John Heaton (jheaton) wrote,
John Heaton

Ten random things: October 6

Ten countries or territories designated as "Not Free" by Freedom House:

  1. Rwanda
  2. Mauritania
  3. Western Sahara
  4. Saudi Arabia
  5. Laos
  6. Afghanistan
  7. Zimbabwe
  8. Iran
  9. Guinea
  10. Vietnam

Freedom House is a non-profit organization that promotes democracy and human rights. Every year, they issue a report assessing the state of political rights and civil liberties in every country in the world, as well as certain territories ( Western Sahara, for example, is a territory of Morocco). The 2009 report lists 42 countries and 9 territories as "Not Free," meaning the citizens of those regions are subject to significant restrictions on their political rights and civil liberties.

Another interesting fact about Freedom House: they interviewed me for a job this afternoon. I think it would be a terrific place to work, and I feel like the interview went well. Fingers crossed!


  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.